Pensée—literally French for ‘thought’ but can also be translated as ‘idea’, ‘imagine’, ‘reflection’, or ‘wonder’—is a Trombone Quartet of four equal parts. This piece progresses via the harmonic changes instead of a driving rhythm or a singing melody. The close harmonies also progress by step instead of traditional harmonic progressions. There are no clear-cut sections, but ideas do return throughout the piece.

Year: 2011

Small Ensemble

Duration: 4'00"

For: trombone quartet


Composers of Olivet Concert, February 27, 2012, ONU; Ian Matthews, Cymone Wilder, Mike Speer, Josh Ring – trombones.

<< All Scores...